Victim & Witness Information
Police Report Copies
Attorneys, Insurance Companies and citizens may request a copy of Police reports by mailing or calling:
The Goodland Police Department
720 Armory Road
Goodland, Kansas, 67735
Some reports may be subject to redaction or may not be releasable.
There is a fee for copies of police reports.
ADDITIONAL CASE FOLLOW-UP:
The police department officer who responded to the incident will contact you as needed for additional details and follow up if needed. With no new information present, no follow-up investigation will be conducted unless further information is developed about your case.
If you receive further information about your case, no matter how small, please contact the Goodland Police Department between 7:00am and 4:00pm, Monday through Friday, at 785-890-4570 or Sherman County Communications after hours at 785-890-4575 and you will be put in contact with an officer who can assist you.
If your case involves stolen property that has a serial number, this property will be entered into the FBI’s National Crime Information Computer (NCIC) which can be checked by any Law Enforcement Agency in the United States. If you discover any additional loss or locate the serial number of your stolen item(s), compile a complete list of the items(s) and replacement cost(s).
Bring this list to the Goodland Police Department, 720 Armory Road, Goodland, Kansas, 67735 or call 785-890-4570 and an officer will assist in retrieving the information.
If you have property damage, please drop off or mail an estimate for repair or replacement to the same above address. If your checkbook or credit cards are stolen, you are responsible for notifying your bank or credit corporation. This should be done immediately to avoid possible liability for unauthorized charges to your accounts.
If you need a copy of a traffic accident report, please call 785-890-4570.
You can also purchase your accident report online at www.crashdocs.org.
There is a cost for a copy of these reports. If you are inquiring about these reports please call 785-890-4570.
The Goodland Police Department is actively committed to intervention and recommending charges to the appropriate court for all domestic violence cases. Criminal charges are filed by the city or county and not by the victim of domestic violence. A case will not be dismissed because the victim requests that the charges be dismissed. Prosecution is at the discretion of the City Prosecutor or County Attorney. Information about your case and details of such may be made public.
If you are identified as a victim of a Domestic Violence case filed by the Goodland Police Department, you should be aware of certain conditions that apply to the case and the suspect.
In the event the case is submitted to the City Attorney an 18 hour hold is placed on most domestic violence arrestees, and in most cases they must see the judge prior to release. In the event the case is submitted to the County Attorney a 48 hour hold is placed on domestic violence arrestees. This means the suspect, or person arrested, may see the judge within 18 hours (City) or 48 hours (County). In some cases, a longer hold is applied at the discretion of the court. The arrestees may also be released in a shorter amount of time depending on the circumstances.
The Goodland Municipal Court places a no-contact order on the suspect after a domestic violence arrest. This means that the suspect is not allowed to contact the victim after his/her release from jail. This no contact order is in place until the judge dismisses the order. If the suspect contacts you while the no-contact order is in place, contact Sherman County Communications to request a Goodland Police Officer for investigation and possible charges against the suspect.
The Sherman County Sheriff’s Office participates in the VINE (Victim Information and Notification Everyday) program. To receive notice of the suspects release from jail, visit www.vinelink.com, call 1-866-574-8463, or download the VINE mobile app and follow the instructions. You may also request information from the officer assigned to your case.
ALL VICTIMS OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND ARE URGED TO CONTACT “OPTIONS” DOMESTIC AND SEXUAL VIOLENCE SERVICES AT 1-800-794-4624 OR TEXT “HOPE” TO 847411 24 HOURS A DAY.
PROTECTION FROM ABUSE (PFA) – Any person who has been abused by an intimate partner, household member (live or formerly lived together) or someone they had a dating relationship with is eligible for a PFA. Neighbors, in-laws, friends and co-workers, as long as they do not live or have not lived in the same household, are not eligible for a PFA.
PROTECTION FROM STALKING (PFS) – Any person who is a victim of stalking is eligible for a PFS. Stalking is the intentional harassment of another person that places that person in reasonable fear for that person’s safety. Harassment is a knowing and intentional course of conduct that is directed at a specific person to seriously alarm, annoy, torment, or terrorize the person. Course of Conduct is two or more separate acts over a period of time, however short, evidencing a continuity of purpose that would cause a reasonable person to suffer substantial emotional distress.
ALL VICTIMS OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND THOSE REQUESTING PROTECTION ORDERS ARE URGED TO CONTACT “OPTIONS” DOMESTIC AND SEXUAL VIOLENCE SERVICES AT 1-800-794-4624 OR TEXT “HOPE” TO 847411 24 HOURS A DAY FOR ASSISTANCE OR QUESTIONS. https://help4abuse.org/
EMERGENCY DISPATCH 911
NON-EMERGENCY DISPATCH 785-890-4575
GOODLAN POLICE DEPARTMENT 785-890-4570
GOODLAND POLICE RECORDS 785-890-4570
GOODLAND MUNICIPAL COURT 785-890-4574 204 W 11th Street, Goodland, KS 67735
GOODLAND MUNICIPAL ATTORNEY 785-890-6622 1011 Main Street, Goodland, KS 67735
SHERMAN COUNTY ATTORNEY 785-890-4820 813 Broadway, Goodland, KS 67735
SHERMAN COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT 785-890-4888
“OPTIONS” DOMESTIC AND SEXUAL VIOLENCE SERVICES 1-800-794-4624 or text “HOPE” to 847411 (24 hour helpline)
HIGH PLAINS MENTAL HEALTH CENTER 785-899-5991 or for 24 hour crisis 1-800-432-0333
GOODLAND REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER 785-890-3625
NATIONAL CENTER FOR MISSING & EXPLOITED CHILDREN 800-843-5678 www.missingkids.com
NATIONAL MISSING & UNIDENTIFIED PERSON SYSTEM namus.nij.ojp.gov
In some cases, the person arrested (defendant) can be released from custody in a short amount of time. In some cases, a bond condition may be imposed on the person arrested that prohibits contact with the victim for 72 hours. If the defendant contacts the victim during that time, the victim should notify law enforcement and any available services within the jurisdiction to monitor custody changes of the person being arrested immediately to report the incident. This includes, but not limited to, the Kansas victim information and notification everyday service (VINE) if available in such jurisdiction. This could be a violation of the condition of a bond and is a separate violation which may be pursued by the city or county prosecutor.
CRIME VICTIMS’ COMPENSATION: If you are the victim of a person crime you may be eligible for assistance in recovering loses. The following requirements must be met before your claim will receive consideration:
- The crime must be reported to the law enforcement agency where the crime was committed within 72 hours of the event unless the Crime Victims Compensation Board finds that there was good cause for the failure to report.
- The applicant must be completely cooperative with the law enforcement agency.
- The applicant must file a claim within 2 years of the occurrence of the crime.
- Economic loss must exceed $100 except in cases of sexual assault.
- Only person crimes qualify for compensation.
CRIME VICTIMS’ COMPENSATION BOARD:
Address: 120 SW 10th, Topeka, Kansas 66612-1597
Phone: 1-800-828-9745 or 1-785-296-2359
BILL OF RIGHTS FOR VICTIMS OF CRIME:
- Victims should be treated with courtesy, compassion and with respect for their dignity and privacy and should suffer the minimum of necessary inconvenience from their involvement with the criminal justice system.
- Victims should receive, through formal and informal procedures, prompt and fair redress for the harm which they have suffered.
- Information regarding the availability of criminal restitution, recovery of damages in a civil cause of action, the crime victim’s compensation fund and other remedies and the mechanisms to obtain such remedies should be made available to victims.
- Information should be made available to victims about their participation in criminal proceedings and the scheduling, progress and ultimate disposition of the proceedings.
- The views and concerns of victims should be ascertained, and the appropriate assistance provided throughout the criminal process.
- When the personal interests of victims are affected, the views or concerns of the victim should, when appropriate and consistent with criminal law and procedure, be brought to the attention of the court.
- Measures may be taken when necessary to provide for the safety of victims and their families and to protect them from intimidation and retaliation.
- Enhanced training should be made available to sensitize criminal justice personnel to the needs and concerns of victims and guidelines should be developed for this purpose.
- Victims should be informed of the availability of health and social services and other relevant assistance that they might continue to receive the necessary medical, psychological, and social assistance through existing programs and services.
- Victims should report the crime and cooperate with law enforcement authorities.
K.S.A. 74-7333 CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION BOARD
Non-U.S. citizens who may have been the victim of certain types of crimes, may be eligible for a U Visa. For further information visit: U and T Visa Law Enforcement Resources | Homeland Security (dhs.gov)
For more information about other immigration benefits including T nonimmigrant status (T visa) and Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) relief visit: Humanitarian | USCIS