June 14, 2021 Special Commission Meeting Minutes

June 14, 2021 Special Commission Meeting Minutes

June 14, 2021 Special Commission Meeting Minutes

website_admin Minutes


Special Commission Meeting

June 14, 2021                                                                                                                                  5:00 P.M.

Mayor John Garcia called the meeting to order with Vice-Mayor Jay Dee Brumbaugh, Commissioner Aaron Thompson, Commissioner J. J. Howard and Commissioner Gary Farris responding to roll call. 

Also present from the City were Kenton Keith – Director of Streets and Facilities, Neal Thornburg – Director of Water and Wastewater, Danny Krayca – Director of Parks and Shauna Johnson – Deputy City Clerk. Joshua Jordan – IT Director.

Mayor Garcia led Pledge of Allegiance


  1. Executive Session KSA 75-4319 (b) (1) for personnel matters of nonelected personnel – Mayor Garcia made a motion at 5:01 p.m. to recess into executive session under authority of K.S.A.75-4319 (b) (1) for personnel matters for nonelected personnel not to exceed twenty-five minutes.   I request the Commission and New Interim City Manager Cherise Tieben present. Commissioner Hward seconded the motion.  MOTION carried by a VOTE of 5-0.  Meeting resumed at 5:26 p.m. 


  1. Approval of Interim City Manager Professional Services Agreement – Mayor Garcia stated, ON A MOTION by Gary Farris to approve the Interim City Manager Agreement between the City of Goodland and Cherise Tieben seconded by Vice-Mayor Brumbaugh.  MOTION carried on a VOTE of 5-0. 

ADJOURNMENT WAS HAD ON A MOTION by Vice-Mayor Brumbaugh seconded by Commissioner Howard.  Motion carried by unanimous VOTE, meeting Adjourned at 5:40 p.m.


ATTEST:                                                                               John Garcia, Mayor


Shauna Johnson, Deputy City Clerk